Site icon Maritime Commons

1/29/2016: Solicitation for the Rear Admiral Richard E. Bennis Award for excellence in maritime security

The Coast Guard has extended the solicitation period for nominations of the Rear Admiral Richard E. Bennis Awards for excellence in maritime security until February 29, 2016. This bi-annual award serves to highlight and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions of the maritime community with regards to implementation of Maritime Transportation Security Act, or MTSA, requirements and other maritime security best practices in safeguarding our nation’s maritime transportation system.

The intent is to recognize and encourage organizations demonstrating a true comprehensive culture of security, encourage organizations to assess their overall security program to identify strengths and weaknesses, seek creative solutions for addressing known risks, build a system of continuous improvement and share best practices that would benefit similar organizations.

Award eligibility

Any marine transportation related organization owning, operating, or otherwise managing vessels, waterfront facilities, fleeting areas or other entity engaged in maritime operations subject to Coast Guard maritime security regulations is eligible as an award applicant within one of the following categories:

Award categories


Applications will be evaluated on the following categories, in no particular order:

Application procedures

If you have any questions, or comments please contact the program coordinator or call (202) 372-1108.

This blog is not a replacement or substitute for the formal posting of regulations and updates or existing processes for receiving formal feedback of the same. Links provided on this blog will direct the reader to official source documents, such as the Federal Register, Homeport and the Code of Federal Regulations. These documents remain the official source for regulatory information published by the Coast Guard.



Exit mobile version