Ports and Facilities

3/13/2018: Winners of Rear Adm. Bennis award for excellence in maritime security announced

The Coast Guard is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Rear Admiral Richard E. Bennis Award for Excellence in Maritime Security.

This biennial award serves to highlight and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions of the maritime community with regards to implementation of Maritime Transportation Security Act, or MTSA, requirements and other maritime security best practices in safeguarding our nation’s Marine Transportation System.

The award distinguishes organizations demonstrating an exceptional comprehensive culture of security and encourages all regulated organizations to assess their overall security program to identify strengths and weaknesses, seek creative solutions for addressing known risks, build a system of continuous improvement, and share best practices that would benefit similar organizations.

This year’s pool of applicants was highly competitive, demonstrating industry’s overall commitment to maritime security. We congratulate this year’s winners:

A. Port Authority: Port of Houston
B. Facility, Large: Chemours Washington Works
C. Facility, Small: Lucy Woodstock
D. Company, Large: Statue Cruises
E. Company, Small: Port of Texas City Security Council

The Coast Guard is coordinating efforts with all award recipients for official presentation of this prestigious award.

This blog is not a replacement or substitute for the formal posting of regulations and updates or existing processes for receiving formal feedback of the same. Links provided on this blog will direct the reader to official source documents, such as the Federal Register, Homeport and the Code of Federal Regulations. These documents remain the official source for regulatory information published by the Coast Guard.

Leave a Reply