Site icon Maritime Commons

2018 Area Maritime Security Committee of the Year Award

Rear Adm. Richard Timme, assistant commandant for prevention policy, announced the Long Island Sound Area Maritime Security Committee as the recipient of the 2018 Area Maritime Security Committee of the Year Award.

The award selection panel reviewed 43 AMSC annual reports and identified the Long Island Sound AMSC for its exceptional achievements and contributions in safeguarding the Marine Transportation System, including port areas, adjacent waterways, coastal/shoreside areas, waterfront facilities, and other maritime critical infrastructure. It was extremely difficult to select only one award winner as all AMSCs made substantial impacts to bolster maritime security. Honorable Mentions go to:

Additional information regarding the award process and other AMSC activities can be obtained by contacting Dr. Robyn A. Kapperman at (202) 372-1110 or or

This blog is not a replacement or substitute for the formal posting of regulations and updates or existing processes for receiving formal feedback of the same. Links provided on this blog will direct the reader to official source documents, such as the Federal Register, Homeport and the Code of Federal Regulations. These documents remain the official source for regulatory information published by the Coast Guard.

Exit mobile version