Site icon Maritime Commons

Solicitation for the Rear Admiral Richard E. Bennis Award for Excellence in Maritime Security

Submitted by Ryan Owens, Office of Port and Facility Compliance

The Coast Guard has opened the solicitation period for nominations of the Rear Admiral Richard E. Bennis Award for Excellence in Maritime Security until March 13, 2020.  This biennial award serves to highlight and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions of the maritime community with regards to implementation of Maritime Transportation Security Act, or MTSA, requirements and other maritime security best practices in safeguarding our nation’s marine transportation system. 

This award recognizes organizations demonstrating a true comprehensive culture of security and encourages all regulated organizations to assess their overall security program to identify strengths and weaknesses, seek creative solutions for addressing known risks, build a system of continuous improvement and share best practices that would benefit similar organizations.    

Award Eligibility

Any marine transportation related organization owning, operating, or otherwise managing vessels, waterfront facilities, fleeting areas, or other entity engaged in maritime operations subject to Coast Guard maritime security regulations from January 2018 through December 2019 is eligible.  Award categories are as follows:


Applications will be evaluated on the following categories:

Application Procedures

If you have any questions, or comments please contact the program coordinator at or call (202) 372-1108.

This blog is not a replacement or substitute for the formal posting of regulations and updates or existing processes for receiving formal feedback of the same. Links provided on this blog will direct the reader to official source documents, such as the Federal Register, Homeport and the Code of Federal Regulations. These documents remain the official source for regulatory information published by the Coast Guard.

Exit mobile version