Site icon Maritime Commons

Announcement of the 2019 Area Maritime Security Committee of the Year Winner

Submitted by Dr. Robyn Kapperman, Office of Port and Facility Compliance, Domestic Ports Division

Rear Adm. Richard Timme, Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy, is pleased to announce that the Puget Sound Area Maritime Security Committee (AMSC) has been recognized as the recipient of the 2019 AMSC of the Year award.

The award is based on exceptional achievements and contributions in safeguarding the Marine Transportation System (MTS), including port areas, adjacent waterways, coastal and/or shore areas, waterfront facilities, and other maritime critical infrastructure and key assets.

The award selection panel reviewed 43 annual reports and identified the Puget Sound AMSC for exemplifying the strategic importance of a regional forum to effectively collaborate and facilitate unity of efforts in providing layered security for the MTS.  It was extremely difficult to select only one award winner as all AMSCs have made substantial impacts to bolster maritime security. Honorable Mentions go to:

• Port of New York/New Jersey and the Port of Albany AMSC
• Delaware Bay AMSC
• St. Louis AMSC
• Western Alaska AMSC

Captain Bradley W. Clare, Chief, Office of Port and Facility Compliance Commandant, CG-FAC, will present the AMSC of the Year award through a virtual Puget Sound AMSC meeting on December 3, 2020.

This blog is not a replacement or substitute for the formal posting of regulations and updates or existing processes for receiving formal feedback of the same. Links provided on this blog will direct the reader to official publications, such as the Federal Register, Homeport and the Code of Federal Regulations. These publications remain the official source for regulatory information published by the Coast Guard.

Exit mobile version