Site icon Maritime Commons

National Boating Safety Advisory Committee appoints new members

The U.S. Coast Guard has announced the appointment of 20 individuals to serve as members of the National Boating Safety Advisory Committee (NBSAC).

The NBSAC was established on December 4, 2018, by § 601 of the Frank LoBiondo Coast Guard Authorization Act of 2018, Pub. L. No. 115-282, 132 Stat. 4192 and amended by § 8331 of the Elijah E. Cummings Coast Guard Authorization Act of2020, Pub. L. No. 116-283.  That authority is codified in 46 U.S.C. § 15105.  The function of the Committee is to provide advice to the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security through the Commandant of the United States Coast Guard on matters relating to national boating safety.  

The NBSAC members are selected from disciplines within the following fields of expertise: State Boating Safety Programs, Recreational Vessel and Associated Equipment Manufacturers; and National Recreational Boating Organizations and the General Public.

Membership is divided evenly among three membership categories in NBSAC:

  1. Seven representatives of State officials responsible for State boating safety programs
  2. Seven representatives of recreational vessel and associated equipment manufacturers
  3. Seven representatives of national recreational boating organizations or the general public, and of the seven, at least five shall be representatives of national recreational boating organizations

Each member holds office for a term up to three years.

For more information about NBSAC, visit the U.S. Coast Guard’s Boating Safety Division website.  The new members are:

NameOrganizational Affiliation
State Officials Responsible for State Boating Safety Programs
Lt. Mark A. BrownState of Oklahoma
Capt. Timothy C. DunleavyState of New Hampshire
Mr. Christopher Fallon State of New York
Mr. Thomas E. GuessCommonwealth of Virginia
Asst. Commander Cody Jones State of Texas
Conservation Officer Specialist Joseph KeetonState of South Dakota
Capt. Gary Klein State of Florida
Recreational Vessel And Associated Equipment Manufacturers
Mr. Peter A. ChisholmMercury Marine
Mr. Ralph E. HoskinsRegal Boats
Mr. David C. MarlowBrunswick Corporation
Ms. Christina M. Paul, Esq.K&L Gates, LLP
Dr. Wendy SandersExplico Engineering
Mr. David SlikkersS2 Yachts
National Recreational Boating Organizations and General Public
Mr. John S. Adey IVAmerican Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC)
Mr. Chris EdmonstonBOATUS Foundation for Boating Safety and Clean Water
Mr. John M. JohnsonNational Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA)
Ms. Peg B. PhillipsNational Safe Boating Council (NSBC)
Dr. Robin PopeAmerican Canoe Association (ACA)
Ms. Wanda Kenton SmithKenton Smith Marketing
Ms. Caroline A. MantelBoat History Report

This blog is not a replacement or substitute for the formal posting of regulations and updates or existing processes for receiving formal feedback of the same. Links provided on this blog will direct the reader to official publications, such as the Federal Register, Homeport and the Code of Federal Regulations. These publications remain the official source for regulatory information published by the Coast Guard.

Exit mobile version